Needtobreathe [Preview]

13 Jul

For those of you that don’t know, Needtobreathe has far surpassed any all-time favorite band I’ve ever claimed to have. I’ve never felt more like a “fan” than I do when I talk/think/obsess about Needtobreathe. I’ll chalk up their success in my life with the fact that their sometimes secular, sometimes Christian alternative folk rock (I just gave them the folk standard, because I can) makes me feel so damn good every time I listen to it. (Yes, I just said Christian and damn in the same sentence. Also, because I can.)

The summer of 2008, which (un)fortunately still remains a little blurry in my memory, was highlighted by my then friend, Nick Respecki, keeping me occupied with phone conversations outlining his shenanigans in DC. I used to actually log into Facebook chat then and we’d talk there and on Gmail chat. He’d send me uplifting and spiritual quotes that always made my day and help me sleep that much easier on those warm summer nights in good ol’ Jeffersonville, Indiana. While he tried to convince me that techno was going to be the newest trend in music (okay, he was right, a la Lady Gaga and the copycats since) he also got me hooked on a Needtobreathe song, Don’t Wait For Daylight. The rest of the story is history…it’s my love story. =) -End sappy story-

So anyways I’ve been avoiding and/or slaving over the 300+ photos I took at Taste of Minnesota on July 4th for over a week now. And I’m still not prepared to show you everything! I know; I’m a horrible blogger. But I have lots to show you! I mean a $20 concert with the Ginblossoms, NEEDTOBREATHE, Augustana, and Counting Crows?!? It was one heck of a deal and so worth waiting on the lawn in the second-ish row for a few hours before show time. Though I don’t think our visitor Danny was too pleased about it; but Danny, thank you for amusing me! You don’t even know how much your patience meant to me! And I hope you enjoyed your first concert experience! (The kid’s 23 and it was his first concert…northern Indiana boggles my mind…)

If you’re not convinced about how wonderful Needtobreathe is, I have a few more ways to win you over. Ever seen the movie P.S. I Love You? Ladies, you know you have, and fellas, don’t lie to me! The featured song in the movie, More Time, was written by the hunk-a-burnin’-love featured in my shot above and put Needtobreathe in the spotlight in 2007.

Most recently, their music has been featured in many TV spots and lots of commercials. Overstock.com’s most recent commercial features their latest hit, Something Beautiful. And there’s an NBC commercial for their new fall show called Outlaw, that’s currently featuring their song, Lay ‘Em Down. I can’t, for the life of me, figure out how to embed videos using WordPress, so do me a favor and click those links! Hang out a bit on their website, peruse, if you will. (If you’re in Indy and happen to have tickets to see Train at the White River Lawn in August, you’ll see Needtobreathe. Soak ’em in.) You won’t regret giving this band a shot; I promise!

More to come…

3 Responses to “Needtobreathe [Preview]”

  1. Jim July 13, 2010 at 6:45 PM #

    Ashley, it doesn’t get much better than great music in the summertime does it? I dig em. They kind of sound like Kings of Leon, one of my favorites. If you don’t know them, you should. 🙂 Hope the rest of your summer goes great. There’s not tons left. Then we’ll have to have you guys over for dinner.

  2. ebcarp July 14, 2010 at 6:46 AM #

    Never heard of them, but I’m excited to look them up now (can’t get videos at work, it’s like they want me to be productive or something, go figure).

  3. Ravyn July 14, 2010 at 7:37 AM #

    J and I think alike … I was about to tell you that you should check out Kings of Leon … one of our favorites! And yes … can’t wait to have you over for dinner!

Leave a Reply

